Borussia Düsseldorf is the winner of the Champion League season 2017/18. After the narrow home win last Sunday, the German record champion around Timo Boll also prevailed in the second leg final against the Russian defending champion TTC Fakel Gazprom on Friday afternoon and celebrate the fifth title in the club's history.

The Champions League winner of the 2017/18 season is called Borussia Düsseldorf. On Friday afternoon, the German record champion won the second leg final against the Russian defending champion TTC Fakel Gazprom Orenburg 3-1. Already in the first leg last Sunday, the team around Timo Boll prevailed by 3-2. "We are extremely happy and very proud of our team," said manager Andreas Preuß. "We really deserve the cup afer we missed it quite narrowly several times. Now it was finally our turn."

Stefan Fegerl

Paved th way to success: Stefan Fegerl (Photo: Fuhrmann)

At the beginning of the match, Stefan Fegerl provided a dream start für Düsseldorf. The Austrian, who replaced Anton Källberg, impressively defeated the bronze medalist of the 2016 Olympics Jun Mizutani in four games, despite a setback in the first game. There, Fegerl saved four game points of the Japanese, before he had the chance to win the game himself, but lost it anyway soon after.

With the lead in his back, Boll stepped into to box and just as five days ago met his national team mate Dimitrij Ovtcharov, who played on second position despite his injury problems. But this time 'Dima' started strong and clearly won the first game. Boll still had problems in the second game and equalized to 1-1 only in the extension and with his third game point. Then, however, the world ranking second went into the 2-0 lead for Düsseldorf, and set the course. Because at that time it was clear that the hosts would need three clear victories and at the same time could only two more games for Düsseldorf.

Samsonov shortens

Timo Boll

Invincible again: Timo Boll (Photo: Weber)

One who took this to heart was Vladimir Samsonov. The Belarusian defeated Kristian Karlsson by 3-0 and brought Orenburg back into the match. However, Boll proved against Mizutani yet again that he can be relied on especially in the important matches: 11-5, 11-7 and the fifth title of his Borussia was perfect, the 2-0 lead against the Japanese already sufficient. After the cheering, Boll drew the final stroke under the match a little later. "We waited seven years for this title. And of course, it always bugged me when we lost in the final," said the 37-year-old. "Everything was just right this year. Orenburg was weakened a bit and we took advantage of the moment."

The joy was also huge for Stefan Fegerl, who will leave Düsseldorf in the summer and play for Ochsenhausen. With his victory point against his future club in the second leg semi-final and the important break today, he had made Düsseldorf's success possible in the first place. "This is my first Champions League victory. It's fantastic to be part of this team. That's the highlight of my career."

Triple possible

However, Düsseldorf does not have much time to celebrate their triumph. Already at 4 o'clock local time (1 o'clock in Germany), the team of coach Danny Heister starts the journey back home in order to prepare for the Liebherr TTBL-Finale for the German Team Championship. On 26 May, Düsseldorf has the chance to win the triple consisting of the national cup, the German Championship and the Champions League in a duel with the TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen.

The final at a glance

Sunday, May 13, 1 pm
Borussia Düsseldorf – TTC Fakel Gazprom 3-2
Timo Boll – Dimitrij Ovtcharov 3-1 (11-7, 11-8, 10-12, 11-6)
Kristian Karlsson – Jun Mizutani 2-3 (8-11, 11-8, 10-12, 11-9, 12-14)
Anton Källberg – Vladimir Samsonov 1-3 (6-11, 3-11, 11-7, 6-11)
Timo Boll – Jun Mizutani 3-1 (13-11, 11-8, 5-11, 11-3)
Kristian Karlsson – Dimitrij Ovtcharov 3-0 (11-8, 11-4, 11-8)

Friday, May 18, 3 pm
TTC Fakel Gazprom – Borussia Düsseldorf 1-3
Jun Mizutani – Stefan Fegerl 1-3 (13-11, 8-11, 9-11, 11-13)
Dimitrij Ovtcharov – Timo Boll 1-3 (11-7, 11-13, 8-11, 7-11)
Vladimir Samsonov – Kristian Karlsson 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-9)
Jun Mizutani – Timo Boll 0-3 (5-11, 7-11, 7-11)

Header photo: BeLa Sportfoto